Welcome to Incels.is - Involuntary Celibate Forum

Welcome! This is a forum for involuntary celibates: people who lack a significant other. Are you lonely and wish you had someone in your life? You're not alone! Join our forum and talk to people just like you.

Serious Your productivity techniques?

Fontaine

Fontaine

Overlord
★★★★★
I've been trying to self-learn various languages and programming languages for years, but my rate of progress is very slow as I always get distracted by other things. (When it's not this forum, it's something else).

For instance, I've been learning German and Chinese for four years now, and my level of mastery of German can only be described as mediocre; my mastery of Chinese is limited to recognizing a few characters and easy sentences.

I've come to the conclusion that the best way to learn is in a classroom or a military-style environment with a tutor who whips your ass if you don't work, honestly.

Motivation is fleeting, and self-discipline is so much a pain in the ass that so far I can only discipline myself effectively for basic things like gymcelling.

What about you?

I am only productive with things I'm interested in (like reading)

I am only productive with things I'm interested in (like reading)
Yeah, but precisely: that's not productivity.

Activities that you like are not productivity. It doesn't mean that they're useless (reading is good for your brain), but it's not real productivity.

Real productivity entails going out of your comfort zone. It's challenging yourself, it's suffering to get really better. Productivity is learning a big-ass list of irregular verbs, or that fine point of Chinese grammar that you never understood (where the fuck do you put 的 for instance). It's not merely reviewing vocabulary words that you already know on a smartphone app.