Welcome to Incels.is - Involuntary Celibate Forum

Welcome! This is a forum for involuntary celibates: people who lack a significant other. Are you lonely and wish you had someone in your life? You're not alone! Join our forum and talk to people just like you.

[Venting] Almost two decades of failures

T

that_guy

Greycel
I'm actually a pretty regular dude. I'm in my early 30s, I have a pretty cool job in the broadcasting industry, and I've been an on-air personality on both TV and radio. I'm not going to wax poetic about how amazing and cool and enlightened I am, but I do try to be a good, interesting person on a daily basis. I'm more charismatic and outgoing than the average guy, and to call me creative would be an understatement. I'm an artist, musician, and photographer. I'm not excessively fastidious about my appearance, but I do appreciate a nice suit. There are a lot of very basic things I'm omitting about myself because I imagine I'd get eye rolls if I mentioned them (maintaining hygiene), so let's just say I am a fairly average American guy.

But here's where it gets kind of bizarre: I have never, ever had a woman attracted to me. Never been on a date, never held hands, never had anyone flirt with me.

And yeah, it's starting to affect me. I don't know any other person who has gone through this sort of painful loneliness, let alone someone constantly strives to make themselves a better human being in every aspect.

I've been to therapy and it didn't really solve anything, although I did befriend my therapist- we stay in touch to this day. I've got hobbies that keep me occupied and I'm affable enough to easily make friends.