Welcome to Incels.is - Involuntary Celibate Forum

Welcome! This is a forum for involuntary celibates: people who lack a significant other. Are you lonely and wish you had someone in your life? You're not alone! Join our forum and talk to people just like you.

Any softwaredevelopercels here? What's it like?

• Thread starter Deleted member 9758
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 9758

PhD in female hating
-
I'm thinking of switching my majors. I'm studying mechanical engineering currently and I don't like it much. I've been doing some coding in my free time and I think it's a career i'd be interested in pursuing.
Do you have to be smart to be just an average code monkey? I'm a pretty humble guy without much of a drive. I just want to be able to afford my own place to live and copes like vidya and gym. Don't want to ever get married or have kids so no need to worry about those expenses.

Yeah it's mostly code monkey stuff like a lot of CS.
You could probably land a good remote job.

Yeah it's mostly code monkey stuff like a lot of CS.
You could probably land a good remote job.
Is it difficult? Was studying it in college difficult?

Is it difficult? Was studying it in college difficult?
Well considering that even pajeets in India can do it, I would say that it's fairly easy.

Do you have to be smart to be just an average code monkey?

It varies, of-course.

I'll offer my input:

If you want a cozy remote job then do it. To be an ordinary code monkey doesn't require much intelligence at all. It does require getting used to a logical way of thinking, but that just takes some time. Although first I'd recommend just studying it on your own and applying to jobs by faking your experience and education. Because believe me, there are many "koding" jobs out there that could be done with a few months of self-study, but for some reason require a bachelor's degree and 2 years of experience, like mine :feelsseriously: